What to know about the 4 Grand Slam tournaments?

Tennis is one of the most popular sports in the world. To reward the best tennis players, numerous tennis competitions are organized every year. Among these competitions, the four forming the tennis Grand Slam are the most important. What do you need to know about these four competitions?

Australian Open

Founded in 1905, the Australian Open is one of the biggest tournaments in the world of tennis. This competition takes place every year between January and February in Melbourne, Australia. The tournament welcomes the best tennis players in the world and attracts about 743667 spectators. The turnover of the Australian Open is close to 2000000 million euros and the players' prize money is also important. The greatest tennis players such as Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Raphaël Nadal, or Andy Murray participated. Would you like to learn more about Andy Murray and his current status? Read more about https://www.tennis365.com/tennis-news/andy-murray-hopes-he-has-inspired-some-people-after-successful-return-following-hip-surgery/ .

Rolland Garros

Also known as the French Open, the Rolland Garros tournament is one of the most prestigious tennis competitions in the world. Created in 1925, the tournament is generally held from late May to early June. It takes place every year in Paris at the Rolland Garros stadium and brings together the best tennis players in the world. Great names of tennis such as Raphaël Nadal, Novak Djokovic or Roger Federer have won it. It is also important to point out that Raphaël Nadal is the one with the most wins in singles (men and women). He has won it 13 times.

The Wimbledon tournament

Also known as The Championship, the Wimbledon tournament was first played in 1877 and will see its 134th edition this year. It is therefore the oldest tennis tournament in the world. Wimbledon takes place from late June to early July and is watched by more than 1 billion viewers. The current title holders are Novak Djokovic (men's category) and Simona Halep (women's category).

The US Tennis Open

Founded in 1881, the US Open Tennis Tournament is the fourth Grand Slam tennis competition. Formerly called the US National Championships until 1967, it takes place every year in New York from the end of August to early September. The tournament attracts nearly 720000 spectators each year and brings together hundreds of professional tennis players. The current title holders are Dominic Thiem for men and Naomi Osaka for women.

Many other tennis tournaments such as Indian Wells and Miami are also important. They are therefore also very well attended.