What is ETIAS and which countries are affected by this program?

Since 2016, the Commission of the European Union has decided to set up a system in order to control travelers who hardly need a Visa to enter the countries of the Schengen area.  This system, called the European Travel Information and Authorization System ETIAS, will not come into force until 2022. So, what should we know about ETIAS?

What is ETIAS?

Known in French as the European Information and Authorization System, ETIAS is a kind of Visa exemption program that will allow entry into the Schengen area to be controlled.  Indeed, populations of countries that do not need a Visa to enter the Schengen area will now have to obtain an ETIAS authorization before being able to travel.  It is important to specify that the ETIAS is only valid for stays of no more than 90 days.  For more information on this subject, visit etias-visas.com.

Are all countries in the world eligible for ETIAS?

Not all countries in the world are eligible.  Only sixty countries are eligible for this Visa Waiver Program.  Countries like the USA, China, Chile, Canada, Colombia are part of it. Inhabitants of countries that are not eligible for this program will have to apply for a Schengen Visa in order to enter the countries of the zone.

Does ETIAS allow entry into all European countries?

The ETIAS, although having been proposed by the European Commission does not allow entry into all European countries.  Indeed, all the countries of Europe are not part of the European Union and all the member countries of the European Union are not members of the Schengen area.  ETIAS only allows entry to countries that are members of the Schengen area.  If you are from one of the eligible countries, then ETIAS will allow you to enter countries such as Germany, Austria, Belgium, France, etc.

The ETIAS will only be launched in 2022 and for the moment, the populations of the eligible countries can still use the Schengen visa to carry out this type of length.